What Happens Tomorrow

I’m just

Walking

On a chilly

Not quite cold

Winter night

To the subway

Wondering

If we’ll survive

This presidency

It’s more than

Not wanting

Barack, Michelle, and Joe

To leave

But knowing

How many

Lives

Will be lost

In the next

Four years

People say

“We survived

Horrible presidents

before”

And maybe

You did

But I know

Too many

Native Americans

Didn’t survive

Jackson

Too many

Queer Americans

Didn’t survive

Reagan

So I’m left questioning

Praying

(And I don’t pray)

For the lives

That won’t survive

A Trump reign

So

With my bare knees

And warm heart

I forge my way

To D.C.

In the hope

That you

Will hear

Our battle cry

Because I’m here

And queer

So Trump

Better fear

Share a Thought

