Everyday Empowerment from Family

Cue mad cheesy post. Family should always be a deep well of empowerment, but I know not everyone is lucky enough to have a family that acts like one. So today’s (yesterday’s, really, because I was spending too much time relaxing in the backyard with my family) empowerment is really twofold, as I broaden the word family to understand some of the most supportive families aren’t by blood.

20140811-092725-34045354.jpg

I do this thing now where I regularly think of my friends from college as my family. For 9 months out of the year, they’re the people I talk to on the daily, they’re the people I eat dinner with, they’re the people with whom I laugh and love and have a good time. And they’re the people who support me, and let me support them.

20140811-092354-33834305.jpg

We’ve grown up together. We’ve stayed young together. And we all know that we’ll be a source of love and support for years to come.

So whether it’s your home family, your chosen family, your internet family, or your weird-conglomeration-of-friends family, let them be your source of everyday empowerment.

Share a Thought

