Really Good Bad Writing

College ruined bad writing for me. I used to love reading really poorly written works. Or at least I could ignore the shit writing for a well-contrived plot. But now? Nothing. Now, I feel the compulsion to read or at least correct. To drag my bright-blue pen across the misspelled, misplaced words and write editors notes. My professors embed these mistakes-to-notice in our own writing, but then I see them everywhere else too.

Excited from the adrenaline of finding an unheard story, I used to love reading raw material on FanFiction and other fiction databases. I could just pass over the awkward phrases and misplaced modifiers. The work inherently functioned as on-the-fly-writing, not meticulously edited material.

Now, I spend far more time searching for the entrancing stories, with the correct spelling, rather than just diving face first into a pile of dazzling mush. Or maybe I desire the writers, conscious that even though they threw on pants this morning, the remembered not to wear them backwards.

At least, with my professors’ guidelines echoing in my mind, I might remember to clean up my own work. Hopefully.

3 responses to “Really Good Bad Writing

  1. I was wondering if you ever thought of changing the structure of your site? Its very well written; I love what youve got to say. But maybe you could a little more in the way of content so people could connect with it better. Youve got an awful lot of text for only having 1 or two images. Maybe you could space it out better?

    Like

    • For me, the words I craft for a post count for content as much as photos. I post what feels natural to me, and if aesthetically it’s unpleasing to other people, that’s okay. I appreciate your feedback, and am glad you like my blog. Really though, I write for me, and blogging acts as an interesting way to convey and record my thoughts and feelings, and I don’t quite care for images when I don’t feel they would be warranted. Thank you again for your input.

      Like

Share a Thought

