Culinary Adventure 2: Serendipity 3

So, it has been a long time, to say the least. But I ate my way through New York in the meantime. As a result, I now have too many places for which I need to review. I figured I would start with a classic and just jump around from there.

Serendipity 3 tends to be as infamous as it’s particularly original Frrrozen Hot Chocolate. Firstly, the conundrum of hot chocolate being frozen remains relatively bizarre. Think of the taste of hot chocolate, with blended ice, a hefty serving of whipped cream and chocolate shavings on top. The whole concoction fits into this fishbowl of a sundae glass, and cannot be finished by one person alone. The brain freeze remains to be inevitable, but all part of the experience.

Now, having adventured into this decadence more than once, I realized one of the other flavors needed to be tried. I am a fan of all things peanut butter flavored, and there is always a jar of some nearby, if not two. Besides, peanut butter and hot chocolate just sound like a sublime sort of combination. The waiter confirmed my suspicions that the Peanut Butter Frrrozen Hot Chocolate tasted every bit of wonderful I thought it would. The peanut butter did not overwhelm the hot chocolate, which is just how it should be, it merely added to the sensation.

I must throw in my few cautionary tales into this tale. First, make a reservation. Unless it’s snowing or raining or an off hour, you will not be able to get a table for three in under an hour. Luckily, I have had the foresight to make a reservation, or arrive just after opening. Second, there is a slight problem with ordering a Frrrozen Hot Chocolate, when the weather doesn’t rise above freezing point. Your outside is already cold, and with the powers of the Frrrozen Hot Chocolate, your insides will be cold too. This happened on my last adventure to the store, and both my friend and I were practically shivering by the time we left. Granted, we agreed wholeheartedly that it was well worth it. Try this dessert in a summer month, and it’s the most refreshing drink to cool your hot self.

Head on up to Serendipity 3, on 60th St between 2nd and 3rd Ave, if you need a reason for some particularly cold hot chocolate.

20140125-132431.jpg

Share a Thought

