Her, A Review

There are some movies you watch, and you leave thinking, even saying, I can’t process this, that the movie was so much, muchness, that you need to assimilate to the movie, long after the film stopped rolling. Her is one of those movies. I left the movie trying to think of everything the movie mentioned, but that’s just not possible. My brain is not capable of processing all the ideas that movie had to offer. At least, not at once. And I am human enough to admit that.

So I have decided that I need a solution; albeit, this solution is only temporary. I need a way of summing up the movie in my mind, so I can find some peace, and go to bed. My body needs sleep to function, and I am at least an hour past proper functioning. So, here it goes, how do I summarize Her.

To start, it was innovative. Not a completely an original thought, falling in love with a type of software, a computer, essentially. But the execution felt original. The plot as a whole felt refreshing. Even the fashion, the technology, the furniture, all seemed like a different way of seeing the future, a combination of the old and the potentially new, by being somewhere between the 70’s and the now, with so much more. Which then gave it this realism, that this view of the future wasn’t so impossible. Cinematically, and I am not an expert, I felt like I could handle it. As if I was watching the perfect balance, of a story and life, that the film so exactly nailed all that life is, and all that life could be.

Now, the idea, the “moral”, for lack of a better word, is harder to tackle. Essentially, I am trying to define what I took away from this movie. What am I supposed to take away? What did I take away? In the end, I possess this idea that love, regardless of its form, is perfection, in and of itself. Love is beneficial to life, regardless of what type of relationship two beings find themselves in–the word beings is tenuous at best here. I left Her with the sense that a loving relationship is beneficial to you, that if you want to be a happier version than your previous self, because of this relationship, then it’s a good one, and everything else doesn’t really matter.

Relationships can take on any form, but are only worthwhile if they make your life worth living. The relationship can be between you, and your dog, or your coworker, or friend, or neighbor, or great-grandmother, or mailman, or computer operating system, between you and who/whatever makes your life, your time spent in this life, worth something. That specific something can be whatever you want it to be, as long as it is exactly what you want it to be, then nothing else is as important. Her gives us this stunning opportunity to view relationships–no matter their form–as something meant to be beneficial for our lives, for relationships to be ultimately gratifying.

I hope that if you have seen Her, you can hear this sentiment in the film as I do; or, if you haven’t seen the film, that you go and watch it this very moment. Understand, the movie is a lot to handle, but seeing the movie is worthy of your time. If you can walk away from it, with a clearer understanding of yourself, all the better.

20140111-014043.jpg
Photo credit:
Jeremy Ford

Share a Thought

