Stumbling

I was a mermaid
In a past life
The salt water still stains my skin
The waves echo in my ear
My hair is forever damp with the sea
Sand hides behind my ears
The kelp grips my hips
A starfish suctions to my heart
Coral colors my lips
The oceans’ sun speckles my fair complexion
My legs still feel awkward on the ground
The rhythm of the waves rocks me to sleep
I swam in the warmest waters of the Pacific
My dolphin neighbor was the liveliest being
I’ve ever had the chance to know
Send me back to the sea
When I leave this life
So I can return to the other
The other life that I carried with me
While I stumbled on land.

20131212-211801.jpg

Share a Thought

