The Drive

I drive with my Ford
With my sturdy beast
And all of its blemishes
And mine
Dirtying our own faces
On the I-40
Letting the Arizona sun
Kiss more than
Just our faces.
The plateaus and the shrubs
The red rocks and squashed bugs
Have not changed since my childhood
Or even before that.
The sordid heat breathes
New life into my body
My skin, my soul, my being.
I needed this
This drive through the land
I remember far better
Than the back of my hand.
The dust of this southwest settles
In my skin
And I love it all the more
That I can take it with me
Back to my California shore.

Share a Thought

