Name

summer rain 2 better

Another Carol Ann Duffy favorite. I find it rather enchanting, and maybe that’s why I find it so charming. Or perhaps, it’s the honesty hidden in the lines of the way a name can change, and the circumstances of the utterance of such a name change just as drastically, in such an exciting and comfortable way.

Name

When did your name
change from a proper noun
to a charm?

Its three vowels
like jewels
on the thread of my breath.

Its consonants
brushing my mouth
like a kiss.

I love your name.
I say it again and again
in this summer rain.

I see it,
discreet in the alphabet,
like a wish.

I pray it
into the night
till its letters are light.

I hear you name
rhyming, rhyming,
rhyming with everything.

Photo credit:
Cardboard Sea

Share a Thought

